Jenneration X!
quizzes
diaryland
rings
my profile
random entry
older entries
e-mail me

Site
Meter

She..she screams in silence..a sullen riot penetrating through her mind...We...wait for a sign to smash the silence with the brick of self-control---Are you locked up in a world that's been planned out for you? Are you feeling like a social tool without any use? Scream at me until my ears bleed, I'm taking heed just for you--She...she's figured out..all her doubts are someone else's point of view..We...walking up to smash the silence with the brick of self-control--------
News


-

"I'm really not that different, you just made me think so."

What's up?

mood: cansada
now playing: joe walsh-life's been good to me
vocabulary: selosa

My yesterdays....


Previous - Picture time!! Next - I gotta goooooo.
2004-01-20 - 8:33 p.m. - Si, yo entiendo fritar.

The people who pick up trash ride in horse driven carts.

The fattest uruguayan female is an american size 2.

Uruguayans walk around sucking tea-like water called "Mate" from gourds with built-in straws and they get this tea-like substance by pouring water into a gourd stuffed with leaves.

My spanish teacher spoke only in spanish yesterday and we spoke only in spanish and already I have an assload of homework in every class.

Last night I went out walking with my professor, Randi, Jenee, and Deanna. We were going to the beach to take a walk along the coast. We stopped to take a picture with the beach in the background and I saw a cute doggie. I wanted to pet him and he was with his owners, an older couple. I asked his name and then we started talking and everybody left me for the beach and I remained talking with the nice woman, Rosario, and a little with her husband Alfredo for over forty-five minutes. They don't speak English. I somehow carried on a conversation in spanish for almost an hour. It was amazing. I told her all about life in the states, my family, what I am studying, what I want to do with my life, what I am doing here, who else is in the program, what we eat, where we go, etc. She told me what she does and where she lives and about her son and all sorts of stuff. Finally my group came back (I still have never made it to that beach) and I introduced them and she invited me over and had dr collier write down her phone number and address and kept getting so worried that we would think her apartment is small. Everyone was sooo jealous. Jenee says, "I want to go!" And Randi asks how I meet people so easily. I was like, "I just met them...oh yeah, and the guy at the calling place..." and Randi says, "I need to walk around with you more often!" I don't think they understand the concept that to meet people is to walk around alone. a) you are less intimidating and b) you have no one around to speak english with you and are forced to speak in spanish. It is discouraging to be around more advanced spanish students because they speak so much more that it makes you feel like if you spout off in your mis-conjugated spanish then they will think less of you. This was so at lunch on sunday when my roommate and I both sat with the cook and her friend and some nice old ladies. I couldn't get a word in because compared to Rachel my spanish was shit. Today, the cook, Raquel, let Allison and I help with lunch and I spoke in spanish and she helped me with new vocabulary and with conjugation and I made the quiche and the potatoes. I did it all (She told me how of course) washing the vegetables, cutting the vegetables, frying the vegetables, adding the flour and the eggs and stirring and pouring it all into the pan. I also peeled and cut the potatoes for the mashed potatoes and she added curry to the potatoes (So good). She also made the cake and allison washed and cut and arranged all the fruits and salad and Raquel cooked the chicken. It was great. She told me my spanish was very good and I just must be timid. She is going to teach us how to make empanadas, which are meat cakes kind of like hot pockets. Man, when I come back I will be cooking some mad dinners. When Jenee and others came to lunch and realized that we had made it they were jealous again and Jenee was like, "How did I miss this!" I was in my room!" It's all about seeing an opportunity and being willing to just go for it. Raquel is so nice.

So now I guess I have to go back to homework, never able to see the light of day. It is 8:47 and I can go walking later assuming I finally finish all my homework but it is a little shady being out at night. I may get some exercise inside or whatnot but homework first...must do homework...booooo

Check you later,

jenn

Copyright � 2002 [dryice.diaryland.com]