Jenneration X!
quizzes
diaryland
rings
my profile
random entry
older entries
e-mail me

Site
Meter

She..she screams in silence..a sullen riot penetrating through her mind...We...wait for a sign to smash the silence with the brick of self-control---Are you locked up in a world that's been planned out for you? Are you feeling like a social tool without any use? Scream at me until my ears bleed, I'm taking heed just for you--She...she's figured out..all her doubts are someone else's point of view..We...walking up to smash the silence with the brick of self-control--------
News


-

"I'm really not that different, you just made me think so."

What's up?

mood: ecstatic
now playing: MMW!
vocabulary: colocar

My yesterdays....


Previous - Someone make it all better. Next - Dancing with myself.
2004-03-07 - 8:13 p.m. - And if you've got a nickel, won't you lay your money down.

Ok, let me just say that I absolutely love my brother Dave-dogg. He is the shit.

He told me to go see this band that would be playing in Uruguay called Medeski, Martin & Wood. I went to their webpage and it said that their show was 0.00$ so I was like, "Eh, what the hell, sure." I invited Amber because she is very cool. On Saturday she and I went to lunch together at Puerto Mercado and I had a baked potato (halelujah) and spaghetti, and the cubiertos (which are like..the things they bring when you sit down to eat and don't get it to go, which they also do not ask you if you want them they just bring them) were bread and a glass of medio un medio and these weird sandwich spiral thingies that only the fly who visited actually ate. Then we went shopping and walked around the Old City.

Well, we hopped in a taxi and went to the Radisson Hotel where they were to play and we start walking up and there were doormen and we tried to walk in and he smiled but then stopped me and asked for my ticket. I gave him my "uhhhhh" look because I honestly thought tickets were not required. So, I asked where we get tickets and he pointed and we went to the booth. I asked how much tickets were. She said 443 pesos, which is roughly 15 dollars. Now, 15 is not that much for a concert, it is the equivalent of Uruguayans paying like 50-60 bucks. But still, when you expect free...I told the guy in my limited Spanish that the webpage of the band said free and he said, "Well, -this- webpage.." and he pointed to a poster behind him about the Uruguay Jazztour, "..does not say free." Amber was like, "I do not mind paying but if you don't want to then we can go." Now, I only thought it was a big deal because I had invited her with the proviso that it was free, and when I found she did not care and they take credit cards I was like, "What are we waiting for?" So we bought tickets and then went and sat down. Yes, it was a seated event in the grand ballroom and they were on a stage with tons of like organs and keyboards, a standup german bass, and tons of percussion instruments. We did not know what to expect.

They started playing, it was kind of slow and somber to begin with but a couple songs in it picked up and we were totally into it. We would have loved to just jump up and start dancing, but I do not think these Uruguayans, who evidently consider this jazz (and it did have jazz elements), would comprehend the concept of jambands and how you react to one. They did not know when to clap when there was an awesome solo by one of the guys, and we'd have been horribly outnumbered had we tried. They might have followed suit and they might have just turned around and looked at us funny. There was even a point when Wood held a hand out to the keyboardist key, indicating praise, but no one clapped. Tough crowd.

The concert was awesome and Amber decided she wanted a c.d. I didn't even know it, but after I told my bro about the concert he told me he saw them play in Amsterdam, which is funny since they are an American band.

After the concert we went to this nice Italian restaurant. Amber was freaking out because she was like, "Last time I came I got this awesome chicken thing and it kind of had this sweet sauce but they only have like one chicken dish and it's not it. I read off the item she was talking about in English (the menu was in Spanish) and she was like, "Oh, that's it." It was this chicken stuffed with spinach and cheese and with chopped almonds in it, and the chicken was honey glazed, on top of this interesting fetuccine. It was really good.

While we were waiting for our food, the table of 6 next to us was having a waiter take their picture. One of the guys at the table seemed to have really American mannerisms and dress so when the waiter came back I asked where they were from and he said, "I do not know, would you like me to ask?" and I said yeah so he did. He turned to us and said, "They are from here," and they obviously knew why we asked, so they asked where we were from. We said the U.S. and they explained that they studied in the US at UC Berkely and UC Davis and that their son, the one I had thought to be American, now lives in Boston and he is visiting for the weekend (probably why they were taking a picture). We explained to them why we were here and exchanged numbers and e-mail addresses and they told us to call them if we are bored because they would like to hang out. They seemed very well off, especially having studied in America, and I got the impression they probably have a beach house at Punta del Este. The son seemed very interested in us, the older son anyway, probably because he must be single. lol. Anywho, we made some friends and it was a delightful evening. We got back around 1:30 and then proceeded to internet until 4 something. Gotta love it. It was really great. I slept until 3 today.

Then I went grocery shopping and made cookies. I cannot believe I wasted most of the day sleeping. Sucks. Such is life.

Anywho, I am going to jet out now, maybe go rent another movie and waste some more time. Anything to put off doing more spanish homework.

Check you later,

Jenn

Copyright � 2002 [dryice.diaryland.com]