Jenneration X!
quizzes
diaryland
rings
my profile
random entry
older entries
e-mail me

Site
Meter

She..she screams in silence..a sullen riot penetrating through her mind...We...wait for a sign to smash the silence with the brick of self-control---Are you locked up in a world that's been planned out for you? Are you feeling like a social tool without any use? Scream at me until my ears bleed, I'm taking heed just for you--She...she's figured out..all her doubts are someone else's point of view..We...walking up to smash the silence with the brick of self-control--------
News


-

"I'm really not that different, you just made me think so."

What's up?

mood: excited
now playing: green day-geek stink break
vocabulary: luchar

My yesterdays....


Previous - Majestic. Next - Sultans of Swing
2004-03-27 - 5:34 p.m. - I'm having trouble trying to sleep.

Ok, so we got into Montevideo this morning much earlier than expected. We arrived at around 10:30 a.m., which for you central standarders was 7:30 a.m. We had been on the road since 1 pm the previous day. I always sleep on my stomach for some reason. I think psychologists say people who sleep on their stomach are controlling. I would not say I am controlling, I always have a strong desire to be, yes, but because I am as respectful as other people, the controlling nature only manifests itself in the fights within my head. I always want to have the key to the hotel room when Rachael(my roommate) and I are traveling. I am not so sure this is based more on me being controlling than the fact that she is very absent-minded and locked me -in- the room the other day, unintentionally. I had to call Dr. Roane's room and ask him to go to the internet cafe and retrieve the key for me. It was pleasant. I think my mind just likes to exhaust all possibilities of things that can possibly happen. Perhaps that is why I am also paranoid.

Moving on...The bus ride was great. I am currently reading The DaVinci Code. I read 200-some odd pages on the busride before we put Regarding Henry on the t.v. It is a really good book. It has kept me completely engaged. It is also anti-Catholic church in a sense and that always makes me ecstatic, sorry J.R. But, I think it is anti-christianity in general, which I would have a problem with if its reasons were not valid..but they are. Anyway, I am very eager to finish the book. Jennifer wants me to join a book club with her and that is the assigned book for this month or whatnot. Good deal.

Today I have not done all that much. I have to write a 200 word (spanish only) reflection on the trip we took with our Spanish professor to the slums of Montevideo. I also have to write a 300 word bit on how I felt about my trip to the falls. Writing in Spanish is more difficult than speaking it because it is harder to get away with not having immaculate grammar.

The falls were awesome. I posted the pictures on my last update. The falls were breath-taking. I am very glad we decided to go. I did spend way too much money there though. I am not even sure on what. I know I bought a bunch of Brazilian soccer jerseys in Paraguay, a butterfly knife, and a couple of shirts, but they were all 4 or 5 dollars each and I think I spent a good 100+ dollars. It probably all went to internet and bottles of water since the water there is undrinkable. Oh, and the smirnoff ices they had there too.

An odd thing happened today. After not talking to me for a whole year, Sean signed online and actually responded when I IM'd him. Evidently, he joined the army and leaves in a few weeks. I guess he decided to let bygones be bygones, and we did not really talk about the fact that he would not speak to me. Perhaps he matured and the petty nature of it embarrassed him in retrospect. I am not sure. All I know is that getting to talk to him was great. Just because I could not be in a relationship with him does not mean that I wanted a friendship we'd had for 4+ years to come to an abrupt halt. But, not going to rehash the past. I am just going to be happy that I got to talk to him and wish him the best of luck in his current endeavor.

When I met those guys from the embassy on my birthday at the Irish pub they invited Rachael and me to a party that they were absolutely sure they were having, the date of which is today. So, we are probably going to a party tonight. Those guys are so incredibly nice. Now, Uruguayan custom says you do not come to a get-together empty handed but I do not know what to bring. I am considering bringing the bottle of limoncello that Rachael got me for my birthday, but is that rude? It is not gift recycling, because assuming I do take it, I will most likely partake. We also would not be drinking it anywhere but a party since the strict rules of Lipscomb deny us the right to drink in our every day setting.

Decisions, decisions.

I suppose I will tell you what I decided tomorrow and relate how awesome (or not) the party was. Maybe, I will even have pictures.

Check you later,

Jenn

Copyright � 2002 [dryice.diaryland.com]