Jenneration X!
quizzes
diaryland
rings
my profile
random entry
older entries
e-mail me

Site
Meter

She..she screams in silence..a sullen riot penetrating through her mind...We...wait for a sign to smash the silence with the brick of self-control---Are you locked up in a world that's been planned out for you? Are you feeling like a social tool without any use? Scream at me until my ears bleed, I'm taking heed just for you--She...she's figured out..all her doubts are someone else's point of view..We...walking up to smash the silence with the brick of self-control--------
News


-

"I'm really not that different, you just made me think so."

What's up?

mood: apprehensive
now playing: NIN - sanctified
vocabulary: seleccionado

My yesterdays....


Previous - I'm having trouble trying to sleep. Next - ..told me to come but I was already there.
2004-03-28 - 7:42 p.m. - Sultans of Swing

****Warning: Bitch session is about to ensue****

When I was in Brasil I was bored out of my mind, as was everyone else. Six days was an excessive amount of time to spend in a tourist town. Consequently we all flocked to our rooms to sit in the air condicioned edifice to view one of two stations that broadcasted in English. There was AXN, which is a movie channel that played American movies with Portuguese subtitles (I watched 8 MM, Ronin, and The Saint). Well, the other was MTV. There were songs in Spanish and Portuguese, but there were also songs in English, tons of them. I found something out very disturbing...well, first what disturbed me was the fact that they play Britney Spears Toxic every 15 minutes. The second was that they play Limp Bizkit-Behind Blue Eyes just as often.

Behind Blue Eyes is -not- Limp Bizkit. LB blows big monkey balls and they cannot write good songs. They sound like screeching weasels. Most people that do cover songs do them in their own style of music. They change it up. Oh no, LB they redo the song almost -exactly- the way The Who did decades before. This generation does not know all that much about classic rock, being all crowded in their world of punk and emo and hardcore so they think that Limp Bizkit wrote this gorgeous song which had just become my favorite song a couple months before I left for Uruguay. Not a soul in the group of students knew that song was a cover. My heart leapt out of my chest. I have such a passionate hatred for Freddie boy right now. I must maintain self control..breathe...

***tirade ended***

Now, where was I...I finished The DaVinci Code today. It was interesting. It gave me a lot to think about. Today, however, I was dead set on freaking out and being nervous and anxious over absolutely nothing at all. I think boredom caused it. It may have also been caused by my inability to receive e-mail since all of Lipscomb's e-mail was down. I did go to Rosario's today for lunch and Rosario, Alfredo, Augustin, and I ate some chicken and mashed potatoes. I gave them a bottle of whiskey as a late anniversary present. Que rico! I walked home for the exercise. It was boring. There were no people on the streets.

I should be studying for my test in Christ & Culture tomorrow, but I see no point. I either know it or I don't. Cramming tonight will not change that fact. I did my Spanish homework, with pleasant distractions from special people.I got addicted to Launchcast, which is now playing NIN, old school nonetheless. Wayyy old school. 1989. Hardcore, man. I still remember that concert fondly.

My Spanish is not so bad. I am proud of myself.

Rosario told me that I look thinner than when I left for Peru. Oddly enough, I was not even trying to lose weight on that trip. Though tomorrow...I am going to undergo a reformation. I have not decided what quite yet. We shall see. I need to go do some stair-stepping at my gym here to get ready for Machu Picchu because DAMN. That is a lot of climbing.

Sometimes I think the way we view ourselves is the only reason that others view us with malcontent. We are the ones who open those flood gates. I think I will go ponder this while I work out. Hmm..I wonder if Taebo is all it's cracked up to be...

Check you later,

Jenn

P.S. Oh yeah, the party was great. I met a lot of people from the state department who gave me great advice on how to get into international positions. This time next year I may be kickin it in Amsterdam.

Copyright � 2002 [dryice.diaryland.com]